All good things to those who wait

I have always loved Mother’s Day.  I loved sharing it with my mother and I loved being spoiled once I became a mother myself.  They say your life changes drastically when you have a child and this is even an understatement in some cases.  Then that one special day comes around when you receive gifts and perhaps a flower delivery or two.  That’s how I remember the first Mother’s Day as a mother. I was treated like an absolute queen!  However, my story is not about my first Mother’s Day, but rather my third.

Before our baby was born, my boyfriend James and I had been together for 4 years.  It was when we moved in together after the first 2 years that people started asking us about wedding plans.  At first we laughed and thought it was kind of cute but soon we got tired of them insisting.  We both had a lot happening in our lives and a wedding simply did not fit into our plans at that time.  You can imagine their reaction when we broke the news about the baby!  Sure my parents and his parents were kind enough to send flowers to congratulate us but it was just another tool they tried to use to pressure us into getting married sooner rather than later.  Just after our baby was born, we politely confronted both sets of parents and asked them nicely to stop asking about wedding plans.  We did intend on getting married one day but we did not need pressure from them.  They finally got the message and dropped the subject.

3 years passed and our little girl was getting bigger and more beautiful every day!  We were truly happy and I’d hardly even thought about marriage.  I was just enjoying the life we had together.  That Mother’s Day, James arranged an elaborate lunch at our house.  He took care of everything!  He is a chef so he did an excellent job with the food and he ordered the table decor from a nearby florist.  In his usual style, James stood up to make a toast.  He started with his mother, then mine and finally me.  As he was telling me how much he loved me and our daughter, he sat down beside me, pulled out the most amazing ring and asked me to marry him!  Of course I said yes but we did agree that we wanted to wait until our daughter got a little older so that she could be part of the wedding.

Over the next two years we planned our perfect wedding and even our parents were happy that we waited a little longer.  They agreed that it was extra special for our own daughter to be our flower girl!  His father made a speach at the reception and told everyone about the Mother’s Day proposal.  It was truely unique and unforgetable!

This entry was posted in Mother's Day Flowers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment